Six Charlotte area Environmental Non-Profits partner on a shark tank style competition to develop solutions to environmental challenges in our region.

What: Catawba Riverkeeper Foundation and Catawba Research are partnering to inspire the next generation of Charlotteans to put their talents to work for the good of the environment. The CLT Future 2020 Competition is a “Shark Tank” style competition for high school students who have an innovative idea to tackle an environmental problem facing our region.

Goal: To engage with young people and empower them to find solutions to our local environmental challenges, problems, and issues.

Objectives:  Provide opportunities for mentoring/coaching and skill building by connecting young people with local environmental non-profits and business partners.  We will encourage their ideas and creativity to tackle our local, environmental issues and stumbling blocks.

Participating Non-Profits: Catawba Riverkeeper Foundation, Catawba Lands Conservancy, Sustain Charlotte, Anne Springs Close Greenway, Clean Air Carolina, Carolina Raptor Center

Who Can Participate: Participants may be local high school students that are residents in the following counties: Alexander, Cleveland, York, Iredell, Gaston, Union, Catawba, Mecklenburg, Chester, Rowan, Cabarrus, Lancaster, Lincoln, Stanly, Chesterfield.

Submission Process: Students submissions will consist of a written plan (max 2 pages), detailed to the best of their abilities, as well as a video presentation to supplement their written plan (max 2 minutes).  Submissions can be made here:

The Event:  The final event will be held September 10 with a series of presentations (under 5 minutes) ‘on stage’ of the finalist’s idea/solution. 1 board member from each non-profit and 1 representative from Catawba Research will serve as judges. The finalists will be judged on creativity of solution, viability of the solution, and presentation.

Prizes: Top Prize Winner: $4,000 scholarship; First Runner-up: $2,000 scholarship: Second Runner-up: $1,000 scholarship; Audience Vote Winner: $500

Visit for more details on the competition.